Royal Welch Fusiliers

The Royal Welch Fusiliers (Ffiwsilwyr Brenhinol Cymreig) were originally formed in 1689. By the time of the First World War, there were two battalions, but, with the influx of volunteers, the Regiment raised a total of 39 Battalions. It was also awarded 77 battle honours and 8 Victoria Crosses during the course of the conflict.

The Royal Welch Fusiliers included several notable authors, such as; David Jones (both a painter and one of the first-generation British modernist poets), Siegfried Sassoon (an English poet, writer who greatly influence the work of Wilfred Owen), Robert Graves (an English poet, scholar/translator/writer) and the Welsh-language poet Hedd Wyn, who was killed at Ypres in 1917.

Commonwealth War Graves

Allen, Corporal Cyril (d1915, aged 27, illness)

Elcocks, Private Richard (d1915, aged 32, wounded in action)

Foot, Lance Corporal Reginald (d1919, aged 31, illness)

Mountjoy, Private Anthony (d1920, aged 25, wounded in action)

Vickery, Private William (d1919, aged 26, illness)

Commonwealth War Graves from the camera of CKPonderingsToo

%d bloggers like this: